Engagement Party { Round 2 }

Adam and I were grateful enough to engage in 2 amazing engagement parties that our families supported and hosted to help us celebrate.  After our stunning winery engagement party in Southern California we headed to Kansas City, KS to share the news with my family and hometown friends.

IMG_8942-1

Adam and I headed to KC over Thanksgiving to celebrate the holidays and decided why not have a party while we were there!!  My parents don’t get to host parties very often and when ever they get the chance they make it an elegant affair.  

The perfect place to host the celebration was non other than the infamous Plaza.  This spanish style city is magical over Christmas time.  A 15-block light spectacle is displayed on all the buildings downtown and has become a tradition for over 84 years in KC, MO.  On every Thanksgiving night the countdown begins while the little spanish village is filled with over 100,000 people watching with anticipation.  The lights flash on in a display of greens, reds and stunning jewel tones.  I highly recommend the Plaza Lights Ceremony as something to see if you get the chance to visit Kansas City.

8279245508_3cd721b9fb_z-1

plaza lightsMy parents reserved a beautiful suite on the Plaza for Adam and I to stay while we visited.  We decided The Intercontinental Hotel was the perfect location to host a pre-cocktail hour with family and take some photos.

D1 (10)

IMG_8940

D1 (13) { Nicholas Wright Photography }

You gotta love my Dad!  He was on a mission to find a photographer that would be generous enough to spend the evening at our event taking some photos of the moments we wouldn’t forget. He recruited his sales person at the local Nordstrom to lend us the favor.  He is a photography student in training and wanted some practice for his portfolio.  

D1 (6)

D1 (16){ My Family: Cousin Alex, my Dad, Uncle Gary, Uncle Doug, my Mom, Aunt Cynthia, Aunt Becky, Cousin Adam. Why we weren’t in this photo is beyond me!  This is photographers fault on being too amateur and not directing his photos correctly. }

Our party took place at The Brio Restaurant, my parents favorite Italian restaurant, in one of the private dinning rooms.  My Dad did a great job with the decor.  He had photos of Adam and I all over the tables documenting our relationship over the past 3 years together.  

D1 (26)

D1 (25)

D1 (24)

It was a beautiful evening and wonderful to have all my old friends and family in one room together.  Some of them had never met Adam before and it was their first introduction.  The room was full of love and happiness throughout the night.

IMG_8939-1

D1 (21)

D1 (31)

Some of my dearest high school friends and even my sorority sisters showed up!  People came from all over the midwest  for our occasion. Wichita, Topeka, Newton, St. Louis, Lawrence, Denver, and even Dallas.  I was truly touched.

D1 (35)

D1 (37)

D1 (32)

It was an evening I will never forget.  

D1 (18)

minks{ My Mom and I in my grandmother’s furs to keep her in memory for the evening.  She had recently passed just before }

D1 (29)

After the party ended my sorority sisters and their husbands headed back to the Intercontinental to catch up.  We pretended to act fancy at the Oak wood bar while sipping on Moscoul Mules and dancing the night away to the live jazz band .  Too much fun.

kcIMG_8783{ My other half from college, Amanda }

We continued the weekend with more wedding activities.  My mom set up a fun-filled day of wedding dress shopping.  We started at an adorable little wedding salon Bridal Extraodinaire.   My mom was very excited about the champagne. 

champs

dress

feathers

I apologize for the blurry photos but you can see they had amazing dresses!  After trying on so many gowns in California this salon has really set the bar.  I haven’t found ones I loved nearly as much.  This was my first experience trying on wedding dresses and it was fun to have my Maid of Honor, my Aunt Cynthia, and Mom all their together.

It was a lovely weekend and Adam and I were more than exhausted after it all.  We really felt like we had 2 mini weddings after both engagement parties.  With both parties combined we had around 100+ people we mingled and entertained with.  

This was our deciding factor that we really wanted to do a destination wedding.  We love the formality of a wedding and the traditions but it just seems overwhelming and exhausting.  We want to enjoy the party ourselves and not be a host the entire night.  Cabo was the perfect alternative for what we were looking for.  

Thank you to Mark and Cheryl Miller for creating a beautiful moment for Adam and I.  We are so grateful for you both and love you bunches.

Enjoy Today!xo

Leave a Reply

