Capturing Your Moment

8fb881dad2ee6c5242ebcc60e4f0a25c

Photography has always been the most important element to me for my wedding day.  I think I have been imagining my wedding photos more than I imagine my actual wedding day.  I am a sucker for a gorgeous image and beautiful moment captured on film.  God bless Instagram for making all of us dreamers into suto-photo pro’s overnight with just a click of a filter.

I tend to think I have a good eye when it comes to proportion and image and I love capturing moments on a daily basis { if you follow my instagram account you know this well }.  I lack the total skill of aperture, ISO, exposures, lighting and so much more that comes with this trade.  It’s so technical and I admire and respect all those in the industry with their talent.  Maybe one day I will take a college course and full-fill my dream of being a recreational beach photog!

4ca30b1e2ac7e1ee4113d40f70dcf6a7

When we decided on Cabo San Lucas I was a bit skeptical on finding a professional and high quality photographer for our event.  Boy, was I wrong!!!! Cabo is saturated with amazing talent!  It’s busting out of this little towns seams it’s so amazing.

I used my wedding blogs as a strong resource to scout the talent that was my taste and exact style I was dreaming for.

Here is my top blog recommendations:

100 Layer Cake

Junebug Weddings

Green Wedding Shoes

Style Me Pretty

They all have a link that takes you to a rolodex of their preferred and top rated photographers by location.  For example Style Me Pretty has a seperate blog dedicated completely to their top referrals for wedding vendors, Little Black Book.  This highly edited collection of wedding service providers are the best of the best.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 6.42.37 PM

I spent hours at night researching and scrolling through photographers websites and blogs.  I had to peel my eyes open at 2am from all the sensory overload.  I was addicted to wedding photography blogs like a drug.  I needed it all the time and I couldn’t stop until I found my perfect match.

b84c1f4caeb3bc6342e0214718a41d2c

I had narrowed it down to 3 photographers that I felt would interpret my style and capture my day to the level I wanted.  I planned to meet them all in Cabo San Lucas during my site inspection trip { the one that I documented many posts back }.

Here is who I met with:

Sara Richardson

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 6.58.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 6.59.01 PM

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 6.59.18 PM

Ana & Jerome

Cabo-wedding-photographers-at-Cabo-Surf-Hotel-42

Cabo-wedding-photographers-at-Cabo-Surf-Hotel-4

Cabo-wedding-photographers-at-Cabo-Surf-Hotel-69

Amy Bennett

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 7.13.01 PM

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 7.12.28 PM

859a24fb297ad329ccd066ed4499dccd

It is a definite must to meet with your photographer before hiring them.  You need to see if your personalities match and you both have similar tastes and styles.  This is the one person that will capture every moment during your biggest day! { no pressure!! }.  Looking through the lens, I find the photographers POV to be the most raw and personal view.  They see every detail, every moment, from a tear to a smile to a romantic kiss to an endearing glance.  Make sure your photographer understands you and what you want.  Look through their portfolio, stock their blog, and ask tons of questions!  They should feel like a long-lost friend that you haven’t spoken to for years.

afb39e891e58c7a1634ac571c4d4c116

We meet all our photographers in very casual settings from a hotel lobby, to a beach bar, and even an airport terminal.  It’s good to see your future best friend in a natural setting and stay easy and breezy.

All my encounters were more than enjoyable and I felt like they all had Adam I’s best interest at heart.  They all understood that Cabo is foreign on more levels than one and were willing to give any advice in all shapes and forms.  We were given referrals on videographers, wedding planners, venues, restaurants…even great happy hours and local spots.  They are full of helpful information!!

a342352b94b536a3398ed8e2dd0c4178

Utilize them in every way possible.  They know the industry more than anyone and who they like to work with.  Hiring a photographer from the start is a great platform to build from.  If you hire all your vendors in a like-minded circle of taste they all work together well and will produce an amazing event for you.

Here are some other photographers that I loved and I highly recommend their services if you are planning a Cabo or destination wedding.

Alec & T

328019_10150326720664072_1030806603_o

 Chris + Lynn

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 7.39.23 PM

 Good luck scouting out your perfect wedding photographer and finding your perfect fit!

Enjoy Today!xo 

 

 

Leave a Reply

