Cabo Surf { Cabo Bound // Finale }

ana and jerome

WE FOUND OUR VENUE!!

WELCOME TO CABO SURF HOTEL

I had this little gem of a hotel in the back of my mind from the very beginning of our venue search in Cabo San Lucas.  Being from Southern California you get a lot of great advice from friends that travel to Cabo on the regular.  Cabo Surf hotel is a favorite among local SoCal travelers and was continuously mentioned to us during our search.  

Although, I kept putting this hotel on the back burner.  The hotel is no doubt adorable but,  it seemed more casual beach chic when I was going for beach glam!  You all saw my dilemma with the GRAND resorts I had researched in my previous post.  You get what you pay for, and in this case we couldn’t afford it.  

I imagined cliff side views and grand terraces, but after visiting these locations my mind changed.  Having your event cliffside brings up a lot of weather conditions, wind being the major disturbance.  A lot of these venues were also very large and required your guests to transition to multiple locations throughout.  It wasn’t as great as I had imagined.

After a long and stressful day with nothing going right during our site inspection we headed to Cabo Surf!  I did  not expect to fall in love with this super rustic chic boutique and bungalow resort.

{ top image by Ana & Jerome Photography }

beach hotel

cabo surf pool

patio

Cabo Surf was a fun surprise for Adam.  He hadn’t seen any photos and I doubt he even remembered me mention the hotel { men, right?  Do they ever listen? 🙂 }.  Needless to say, just the name turned him on and he was hooked as soon as we arrived. 

Pulling into the very shallow and steep gravel parking lot I was not yet impressed.  Just coming from the Sirena Del Mar and Hacienda Cocina my mind was on overdrive and expecting the bigger, better, deal.  This was a humble surprise and it took me a moment to soak it all in.  

surfboards

the resort

Hold on… I need to explain my new epiphany on life to help you understand why this resort resonated with me.  

After living on the beach for a year and half my outlook on life has definitely changed.  

I have been unemployed for over a year and really found new meaning to taking a casual approach on life.  I never thought I would be one of those women who wear Lululemon yoga pants, work out 3x times daily , and cook all their own meals. { and actually enjoy it! } 

I imagined a grand wedding in a large ballroom of an exquisite hotel with 200+ guests dancing to a 12 piece big band.  

WOW!!!  Has that all changed!

Losing my job was a blessing in disguise.  I come from a family that you have to prep and primp yourself hours on end even before you show face to another human being.  I’ve carried this with me through my adult life and always seem to be over dressed for any occasion.  I loved the formality in things and still do, but I don’t let it run my life anymore.

My fiancé has really reeled me in and given me a new outlook.  Why spend so much time getting ready for life when you can just go out there and enjoy it!  Now, I really try to live in the moment and not stress about appearance.  I feel more real and myself in my yoga gear and few swipes of mascara and bb cream.  Growing older they say you feel more comfortable in your own skin.  As cliché as it sounds I am more fit, healthy and confident in my 30’s than I have ever been in life. 

My expectations have shifted and I’ve found the man I want to spend my life with.  The rest is just a bonus to help us celebrate.

6cbc2a4ac17ba6fa7b5663ca1d5e5af0

IMG_0162

Okay, stepping off my soapbox ..back to the venue.

We originally went to Cabo Surf with our “at the time” wedding planner.  The meeting was uncomfortable to say the least and we weren’t getting the answers we needed.  She bombarded the coordinator for the hotel with no appointment and demanded her to give us a tour.  She was starting to ruin our buzz on this venue!  

We quickly re-directed our coordinator and said we would plan to come back tomorrow { without her in tow }.  This is exactly what we did the next day.  We called the wedding planner for the hotel and scheduled a time to sit down for dinner and discuss what Cabo Surf had to offer.

IMG_0237

cabo wedding7 Seas is the premier restaurant at Cabo Surf Hotel.  It received the certificate of excellence award from Trip Advisor in 2013.  I can see why after visiting.  This restaurant prides itself on preparing only healthy options providing fresh organic produce and fish.  They replace butter and cream with olive and soy oil and never use packaged products.   My favorite are the fresh organic fruit smoothies in the morning. 

797a918e7abb31714cf94942cc116ebb

IMG_0228foodI have to start by saying Adam and I were not guests of this hotel nor have we ever visited this location before.  We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived.  We were seated at an ocean side table and had the best service that Mexico has to offer.  

From the hand muddled watermelon and citrus margaritas to the fresh ahi tuna sampler, the night just kept getting better and better.  We started to discuss our day and what it would all look like.  We were feeding off each others energy  { or maybe it was the alcohol }.  We both knew this was our deciding moment.  

We had found our venue!!us{ a photo of us completely stuffed after closing the place down for the evening.  Can’t wait to go back and enjoy the 7 Sea’s restaurant again. }

To make a long story even longer, we enjoyed a 4 course meal over 5 hours!!  Every entree and plate was better than the next.  For the grand finale they presented a dessert sampler  { on the house } with some of the most gorgeous desserts I’ve ever seen!  Now, they are speaking my language! You forever have my heart with free chocolate! { the free wine and heavy pours were a huge incentive to persuade us along the way as well }. 

cfaa8029acb0dbaf2c1fc7d0c87f32c8

Cabo Surf really combined the best of both worlds for Adam and I.  It has the beach and surf, combined with elegance in the gourmet 5 star restaurant and amazing staff.  { I am not quite comfortable with the idea of getting married in the sand just yet, but I’m coming around to the idea }.  

 This venue really felt like US!!

Try not to get wrapped up in the glamour of the event and what everyone is going to think.  Everyone is there to celebrate your marriage and commitment to each other!!  Having all your close family and friends in one location will make any venue the best place on earth for that day.

  std

Keep an open mind because you never know the venue you have been looking for might be the one you would never expect.

Save The Date!

CAB0 2015

Enjoy Today!xo

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cabo Surf { Cabo Bound // Finale }

  1. Casual, Jen? Yoga pants and mascara/BB? This is an epiphany to your soul, heart and budget. Uncle Gary wants to know if this means we are to go barefooted to the wedding ceremony? It looks tropical, cozy, casually delightful, romantic, and a fun location to let your hair down to make memories and stories to tell over and over. Your 30’s are turning u into a well-balanced more confident woman. You r on the right path to holding a beautiful and enjoyable wedding.

  2. I’ve been loving your posts Jenny!! It’s so fun to read about your dreams but then the realizations you’ve come to. You’re so right…you found the man you want to spend life with…what more do you need!?!? Just remember that we will all be there for YOU AND ADAM….not for the other stuff. You’re doing an amazing job with all of this planning. CAN’T WAIT!!!

Leave a Reply

